John Singleton | Co-Creator, Director, Writer | Snowfall | FX



John Singleton

Co-Creator / Executive Producer / Director / Writer

John Singleton exploded onto the scene with his first film, Boyz N the Hood (1991), a tough, intelligent, plain-speaking look at friends in gang-ridden South Central L.A. It earned him an Oscar® nomination for Best Original Screenplay and Best Director, becoming the first African-American (and the youngest filmmaker) ever to do so.

He directed 2 Fast 2 Furious starring Paul Walker, Tyrese Gibson and Ludacris and Four Brothers starring Mark Wahlberg, Tyrese Gibson and Andre “3000” Benjamin. Baby Boy, a film he wrote, produced and directed starring Tyrese, Ving Rhames, Snoop Dogg and newcomer Taraji P. Henson, received four NAACP Award nominations. Singleton wrote, produced and directed the remake of the 70’s classic Shaft starring Samuel L. Jackson for Paramount Pictures. Before that, he wrote, produced and directed Higher Learning starring Omar Epps and Laurence Fishburne and wrote produced and directed Poetic Justice staring Janet Jackson and Tupac Shakur. He also produced and funded the independent film, Hustle and Flow, starring Academy Award® nominee Terrence Howard and Anthony Anderson. This film went on to receive an Academy Award for Best Song of 2005 entitled It’s Hard Out Here For a Pimp.

Singleton has recently entered into television production with two series slated for 2017. The first is Snowfall. He also wrote, produced and directed episodes for the BET series Rebel. He was recently nominated for a 2016 Emmy® Award for his directorial work on the mega hit event series for FX entitled, The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. Singleton directed the controversial fifth episode “The Race Card” and received a 2016 Emmy nomination for Directing for a Limited Series, Movie or Dramatic Special.

He is privately mentoring emerging filmmakers in areas such as story content (writing) and independent filmmaking. Singleton is on the Board of the Western Directors Council, Member of University of California SCA Alumni Development Council, and the Academy Film Scholars – Institutional Grants Committee.