The Premise

Watch Official Trailer: Anthology of Now

Official Trailer: Anthology of Now

About the Show

B.J. Novak’s The Premise is a bold and provocative half-hour anthology of standalone stories about the times we live in. The curated collection of character-driven episodes challenges our shared morality tales, choosing art over argument, as it engages with the most relevant and meaningful issues of the modern era.

Created and hosted by Novak, the series features an extraordinary group of actors and collaborators including Lucas Hedges, Kaitlyn Dever, Jon Bernthal, Ben Platt, Tracee Ellis Ross, Daniel Dae Kim, Lola Kirke, O’Shea Jackson Jr., Soko, Ed Asner, George Wallace, Jermaine Fowler, Ayo Edebiri, Boyd Holbrook, Eric Lange, Beau Bridges and more, the series grounds daring comedic premises with equally daring dramatic performances. Guns, identity, social justice, sex, capitalism, revenge, love, fame, social media, butt plugs – nothing is off limits. A high-wire combination of topics and talent, The Premise establishes a new tone for a new time — the age of the unprecedented, bringing the stories we text about privately into the open.

The Premise is executive produced by B.J. Novak and John Lesher. The series is produced by FX Productions.


  • “all five episodes [are] smart, thought-provoking and worth watching”
    - Trib Live
  • “all-star cast”
    - UPROXX
  • “The script twists around drama-comedy corners in an altogether promising showcase of dexterity”
    - The daily beast
  • “daring and ambitious”
    - FanSided
  • “ expansive, mindful, and goofy, which are the three best modes [of "The Ballad of Jesse Wheeler"]”
    - Roger Ebert
  • “crafted with care and played-out with sincere commitment”
    - San Francisco Chronicle