Ryan Murphy | Executive Producer & Director | American Crime Story on FX

Ryan Murphy

Executive Producer / Director

Ryan Murphy is an Emmy®, Golden Globe®, Tony® and Peabody Award-winning screenwriter, producer and director. He created the cult-favorite series Popular, Golden Globe-winning television drama Nip/Tuck, Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning series Glee, Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning anthology series American Horror Story and American Crime Story, Emmy-winning anthology series FEUD: Bette and Joan, Pose, Scream Queens and 9-1-1.

In 2016, Murphy’s first installment of American Crime Story, The People v. O.J. Simpson, won 10 Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Limited Series. His second installment of American Crime Story, The Assassination of Gianni Versace, won seven Emmy Awards in 2018 including Outstanding Directing for a Limited Series and Outstanding Limited Series. In 2019, Versace won two Golden Globe Awards for Best Television Limited Series and Best Performance by an Actor in a Limited Series for Darren Criss. FX’s Pose has been nominated for 23 Emmy Awards, winning Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for Billy Porter in 2019, and received several Golden Globe nominations. The show has made history by featuring the largest transgender series regular cast and the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series.

Murphy’s recent Netflix series, Hollywood, was nominated for 12 Emmy Awards and The Politician was nominated for five Emmy Awards and two Golden Globes, including Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy. He also co-wrote, directed and produced the series Ratched, which had 48 million viewers in its first 28 days, making it Netflix’s biggest original season one of 2020. Murphy also recently released Halston, starring Ewan McGregor, and his upcoming television projects include Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story and a series adaptation of the Broadway musical, A Chorus Line, for Netflix.

On stage, Murphy produced the Tony Award-winning Broadway hit, The Boys in the Band, starring Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto and Matt Bomer.

Murphy directed the HBO movie The Normal Heart, which received Emmy and Golden Globe awards including the Emmy for Outstanding Television Movie. He also wrote and directed the Golden Globe-nominated film Running with Scissors, starring Annette Bening and Gwyneth Paltrow, the box office hit Eat, Pray, Love starring Julia Roberts and Javier Bardem, and produced the film adaptation of The Boys in the Band for Netflix. Murphy also recently directed the feature adaption of the Broadway hit The Prom, with a cast that includes Meryl Streep, Nicole Kidman and Kerry Washington.

In 2018 Murphy received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, and in 2019 he was selected as a “Titan” for TIME’s annual “100 Most Influential People” list.

Nina Jacobson Headshot

Nina Jacobson

Executive Producer