American Horror Story

Ryan Murphy is an Emmy®, Golden Globe®, Tony® and Peabody Award-winning screenwriter, producer and director. He created the cult-favorite series Popular and the groundbreaking television drama Nip/Tuck, which won the Golden Globe for Best Television Series in 2005 and ran for six seasons. He also created the Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning series Glee; Emmy and Golden Globe Award-winning anthology series American Horror Story and American Crime Story and Emmy-winning anthology series FEUD; Scream Queens; and 9-1-1.

Murphy’s second installment of The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story won seven 2018 Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Directing for a Limited Series and Outstanding Limited Series. In 2019, the installment won two Golden Globe awards for Best Television Limited Series and Best Performance by an Actor in a Limited Series.

His latest FX series Pose was recently nominated for six 2019 Emmys including Outstanding Drama Series, and received two Golden Globe nominations including Best Television Series – Drama. The show has made history by featuring the largest transgender series regular cast and the largest LGBTQ cast ever for a scripted series.

On stage, he recently produced the Tony® Award-winning Broadway hit The Boys in the Band, starring Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto and Matt Bomer.

Murphy wrote and directed the HBO movie The Normal Heart, which received Emmy and Golden Globe Awards, including the Emmy for Outstanding Television Movie. He recently wrote, directed and produced his upcoming series The Politician to debut on Netflix September 27th, 2019, as well as Ratched and Hollywood.

Next, Murphy will direct the feature adaption of the Broadway hit The Prom, with a cast that includes Meryl Streep, Nicole Kidman and James Corden. He will also produce The Boys in the Band for Netflix.

In 2018, he received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and in 2019, he was selected as a ‘Titan’ for the Time Magazine’s annual 100 Most Influential People list.